Diversity Advisory Council (DAC) Awards of Excellence

Friday, March 8, 2024
2024 Diversity Advisory Council (DAC) Awards of Excellence

The Maricopa Community Colleges Diversity Advisory Council recognizes the efforts of Maricopa employees who integrate diversity, equity, inclusiveness, and engagement into our educational mission. Together, we celebrate and share their successes to inspire and motivate others to continue to build on these efforts. 

Since 1994, the Diversity Advisory Council has supported an inclusive and equitable environment for students, faculty, and staff. Beginning in 2007, the Awards event has been an annual tradition, and we are now in the 18th year of celebration.   

The 2024 DAC Awards of Excellence will be presented on Friday, March 29, 2024, 2:00 p.m. at Scottsdale Community College – Indigenous Cultural Center. The Center for Excellence in Inclusive Democracy (CEID) invites you to join us in recognizing and congratulating the following 2024 DAC Awards of Excellence Awardees:


CGCC – Maria Amador, Student Services Specialist Sr./Superwoman for Multi-Cultural & Co-Curricular

DO – Equality Maricopa – Specialty License Plate (Erick Tanchez Jr., Jay Franzen, Dr. Tasha Nelson, Lindsey Wilson, Dr. Charlene Estrada, Maureen Murphy, Donicio Jensen Bobadilla, Luke Mumaw, Michel Contreras, Dr. Jason Beckerman

EMCC – La Cultura Cura/Market Tuesdays Project – Dr. Cecilia Rosales & Dr. Natalie Rivera

GWCC – Sharon McKee - Residential Nursing Faculty/ BNFP Coordinator

GCC – Muslim Student Association: Staff Advisors – Lynn Brysacz and Kelly Sindel; Club President – Wajida Ali

MCC – AJS Dropout Detective Retention Effort – Bert Ouderkirk, Zlaten Mamela, Barbara Lyne

PVCC – Public Humanities Institute and Faculty Presenters: Dr. Michael Noschka (PVCC), Dr. Kaitlin Southerly (PVCC), and Dr. Jeff Butcher (SCC)

PC – Joshua James for incorporating DEI into STEM opportunities

RSC – Kirstin Thomas and Jeanine Bessette for their work on the DEIB Council

SCC – Dia de los Muertos - Writing Center (Carola Doughty, Matilde Luebbers, Donna Revellon, Lisa Burns, Lorraine Howland) and EWLJ Department (Albert Shank, John Ellis, Larry Tualla, Kim Sabin)

SMCC – Library Banner Books Week & Extended Thematic Month events linked with the Diversity Committee’s thematic months: Stephanie Allen, coordinator (Edlin Medina, Ed McKennon, Mario Mendoza, Sean George, Tavey Johnson, John Whitla, Ema Havea, Lora Largo, Cate McNamara, Danielle Cowan, Tracy Mertens, Nancy Deegan, Kimberly Mauldin, Liz Warren)

Hosted by Scottsdale Community College - Indigenous Cultural Center
Date:  Friday, March 29, 2024
Time:  1:30 p.m. networking, music, and light refreshment; 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. Program
RSVP to attend in person

If you are unable to attend in person, we invite you to join the live stream of the 2024 DAC Awards of Excellence Ceremony hosted by Scottsdale Community College.