Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

Student Experience at Scottsdale Community College
Student Experience at Scottsdale Community College

​Maricopa County Community College District
Academic Calendars

Please Note: Dates are subject to change. The most up to date calendar information can be found at on the MCCCD Academic Calendars website.

Colleges/Centers may modify start dates in order to meet special needs. Dates listed below which are directly related to instruction refer to the traditional academic year. Some courses may be offered over time periods for which these dates are not applicable.

2017-2018 Academic Calendar

All dates are subject to the 2017-2018 Catalog unless otherwise specified.

FALL SEMESTER – 2017

Registration — Consult the Fall Class Schedule for registration and drop/add information.

Sat Aug 19 Classes Begin
Mon Sep 4 Observance of Labor Day
Mon Oct 2 Spring 2018 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
Mon Oct 9 Spring 2018 Open Registration Begins
* Application for December 2017 Graduation*
+ Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
Fri Nov 10 Observance of Veterans Day
Thurs-Sun Nov 23-26 Thanksgiving Holiday
++ Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal Accepted
Sun Dec 10 Last Day of Classes Mon-Thurs Dec 11-14 Final Exams**
Fri Dec 15 Mid-Year Recess Begins for Students
Fri Dec 15 Fall Semester Ends [Last day of Faculty Accountability]
Mid-Year Recess (Campus Closed) Dec 25 through Jan 1

SPRING SEMESTER - 2018

Registration — Consult the Spring Class Schedule for registration and drop/add information.

Mon Jan 1 New Year's Day
Sat Jan 13  Classes Begin
Mon Jan 15  Observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday
Mon Feb 19  Observance of Presidents' Day
Mon Mar 5  Fall 2018 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
* Application for May 2018 Graduation*
+ Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
Mon-Sun Mar 12-18  Spring Break
Mon Mar 19  Fall 2017 Open Registration Begins
++ Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal Accepted
Sun May 6  Last Day of Classes
Mon-Thu May 7-10  **Final Exams
Fri May 11  Commencement
Fri May 11  Spring Semester Ends
Mon May 28  Observance of Memorial Day

2018-2019 Academic Calendar

All dates are subject to the 2018-2019 Catalog unless otherwise specified.

SUMMER SEMESTER – 2018

Registration — Consult the Summer Class Schedule for registration and drop/add information.

Tue May 29  Summer Semester Begins
Wed Jul 4  Observance of Independence Day
Mon-Thur July 2-5  Summer Break for Clock Hour Programs Only
Thur Aug 2  Summer Semester Ends

FALL SEMESTER – 2018

Registration — Consult the Fall Class Schedule for registration and drop/add information.

Sat Aug 18  Classes Begin
Mon Sept 3  Observance of Labor Day
Mon Oct 1  Spring 2019 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
Mon Oct 8  Spring 2019 Open Registration Begins
* Application for December 2019 Graduation*
+ Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
Mon Nov 12  Observance of Veterans Day
Thur-Sun Nov 22-25  Thanksgiving Holiday
++ Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal Accepted
Sun Dec 9  Last Day of Classes
Mon-Thur Dec 10-13  **Final Exams
Fri Dec 14  Mid-Year Recess Begins for Students
Fri Dec 14  Fall Semester Ends [Last day of Faculty Accountability]
Tue-Tue Dec 25 through Jan 1  Mid-Year Recess (Campus Closed)

SPRING SEMESTER - 2019

Registration — Consult the Spring Class Schedule for registration and drop/add information.

Tue Jan 1 Observance of New Year's Day
Sat Jan 12  Classes Begin
Mon Jan 14  Observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday
Mon Feb 18  Observance of Presidents' Day
Mon Mar 4  Fall 2019 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
* Application for May 2019 Graduation*
+ Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
Mon-Sun Mar 11-17  Spring Break
Mon Mar 18  Fall 2019 Open Registration Begins
++ Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal Accepted
Sun May 5  Last Day of Classes
Mon-Thu May 6-9  **Final Exams
Fri May 10  Commencement
Fri May 10  Spring Semester Ends
Mon May 27  Observance of Memorial Day

* For specific information concerning registration dates, class start dates, application for graduation dates, and final exam dates, consult the class schedule for the college of intended enrollment.

** Classes meeting on Friday evening only, Saturday only, or Sunday only will have final examinations during their last regular class meeting.

+ See your student schedule in my.maricopa.edu for the Last Day to Withdraw without an Instructor Signature for each class in which you are enrolled.

++ Refer to the Important Deadlines for Students to determine the Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal will be accepted.

The most recent MCCCD Academic Calendars can be viewed on the Maricopa Community Colleges website.