Skip to main content
Scottsdale Community College - Learn. Grow. Achieve
Fetching Content....

Vortex Creative Writing & Art Contest

Congratulations Vortex 2016 Winners

Writing Winners

Cody Achin
Jacob Akers
Volina Armstrong
Lily Baye-Wallace
Asmarrah Bedford
Benjamin Bisgard
Vidushi Chaudhry
Stormy Current
Carol Gibson
Gabrielle Glessing
Delvan Gonzales
Matthew Hoober
Aiyana Irwin
Melinda Keels
Anazia Potee
Joshua Sandrock
Taylor Shelton
Raquel Spencer
Devan Watson

Art Winners

Colleen Austin
Matthew Cohen
Kathy Dioguardi
Joyce Erbach 
Judith Feldman
Junko Kinoshita
Gloria Langer
Bonnie Lewis
Marcia Losh
Caitlyn Mitchell
Meagan Murphy
Sean O'Day
David Ready
Patricia Turpin
Angelika Zgainer

Vortex Magazine

Winners will receive their awards at the Vortex Awards Reception,
which will be held May 5th, 2016 at 7:00 p.m.:

Chaparral Suites Resort
5001 N. Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85250
This event is open to the public. Anyone can attend!
Tickets are available online and on campus at the LC Office, LC 305

For more information regarding Vortex or SCC's Creative Writing staff and classes,
visit our website at

Questions regarding the Vortex or for more information about the upcoming
awards reception please call (480) 423‑6415 or (480) 423‑6459.
Winners will be honored at the Vortex Awards Reception.

Please see the box to the right for a list of the Vortex 2016 Winners.

Help Preserve Vortex, the SCC Student Magazine of Writing and Art!

This event is made possible through donations made from community members, faculty, staff, and students. If you would like to help preserve Vortex, the only showcase for SCC students’ excellence in creative writing and art, you can do so online through the Maricopa Community Colleges Foundation. Be sure to select Scottsdale CC and "Vortex Student Publication" when making your donation. All donations are tax deductible as allowed by law.

Click Here to Make Your Donation Today

(College:Scottsdale, Designation:Vortex Student Publication)

Vortex Third in Southwest Division

This year, Vortex placed 3rd in the Southwest Division (for nearly 15 years, Vortex has consistently placed First, Second, or Third). The following students won this year as well (they competed with every writer in every literary magazine in the Southwest Division!).
Vidushi Chaudry won 2nd place in Poetry
Michele Florea won 2nd place in Short Story
Erik Seweingyawma won 2nd place in Short Story
Alicia Hauskins won 1st place in Creative Non-Fiction
Kendall Straley won 1st place in Scripts

Congratulations to these students for their accomplishments in creative writing!