Skip to main content
Scottsdale Community College - Learn. Grow. Achieve
Fetching Content....

Academic Calendar

​Maricopa County Community College District
Academic Calendars

Please Note: Dates are subject to change. The most up to date calendar information can be found at:
https://chancellor.maricopa.edu/public-stewardship/governance/administrative-regulations/2-students/academic-calendars

Colleges/Centers may modify start dates in order to meet special needs. Dates listed below which are directly related to instruction refer to the traditional academic year. Some courses may be offered over time periods for which these dates are not applicable.

2016-2017 Academic Calendar

All dates are subject to the 2016-2017 Catalog unless otherwise specified.

SUMMER SEMESTER – 2016

Registration — Consult the Summer Class Schedule for registration and drop/add information.

Tue May 31  Summer Semester Begins
Mon Jul 4  Observance of Independence Day
Thur Aug 4  Summer Semester Ends

FALL SEMESTER – 2016

Registration — Consult the Fall Class Schedule for registration and drop/add information.

Sat Aug 20  Classes Begin
Mon Sept 5  Observance of Labor Day
Mon Oct 3  Spring 2017 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
Mon Oct 10  Spring 2017 Open Registration Begins
* Application for December 2016 Graduation*
+ Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
Fri Nov 11  Observance of Veterans Day
Thur-Sun Nov 24-27  Thanksgiving Holiday
++ Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal Accepted
Sun Dec 11  Last Day of Classes
Mon-Thur Dec 12-15  **Final Exams
Fri Dec 16  Mid-Year Recess Begins for Students
Fri Dec 16  Fall Semester Ends [Last day of Faculty Accountability]
Dec 25 through Jan 2  Mid-Year Recess (Campus Closed)

SPRING SEMESTER - 2017

Registration — Consult the Spring Class Schedule for registration and drop/add information.

Sat Jan 14  Classes Begin
Mon Jan 16  Observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday
Mon Feb 20  Observance of Presidents' Day
Mon Mar 6  Fall 2017 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
* Application for May 2017 Graduation*
+ Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
Mon-Sun Mar 13-19  Spring Break 
Mon Mar 20  Fall 2017 Open Registration Begins
++ Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal Accepted
Sun May 7  Last Day of Classes
Mon-Thu May 8-11  **Final Exams
Fri May 12  Commencement
Fri May 12  Spring Semester Ends
Mon May 29  Observance of Memorial Day

* For specific information concerning registration dates, class start dates, application for graduation dates, and final exam dates, consult the class schedule for the college of intended enrollment.

** Classes meeting on Friday evening only, Saturday only, or Sunday only will have final examinations during their last regular class meeting.

+ See your student schedule in my.maricopa.edu for the Last Day to Withdraw without an Instructor Signature for each class in which you are enrolled.

++ Refer to the Important Deadlines for Students to determine the Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal will be accepted.

The most recent MCCCD Academic Calendars can be viewed on the Maricopa Community Colleges website.